Posted by: vanhoff | May 4, 2008

Hunter S. Thompson and Gonzo

I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they’ve always worked for me.

            Hunter S. Thompson

 A moment of truth has overcome my inner-psyche. No journalist or author has ever captured my attention than Hunter S. Thompson. I ask myself, “Why?” Why has Thompson become an intriguing character? I have not experienced the trauma of Peyote, or the needle that breaks skin. I have experimented with mind-altering drugs, but I never desired to live a life chained by such emotional states.

www.gonzo.org

Please post comments, no one is here to judge ones state of mind.

Responses

  1. Jon, thanks for participating in the blog experience this semester. Regarding this particular post, Thompson did occupy a unique niche in journalism that few others have pulled off with his panache. That said, his example is not one that I would advocate following since his life has been romanticized and made to seem bigger than life. And he was no crazier or stranger than some other journalists I have known during my career. — Kent

  2. He had a style as rare as the finest Irish whiskey. Oh and he had gigantic balls in a world full of politically correct assholes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

